Turn The Page


I signed divorce papers today.  And once I finished putting pen to paper, I thought I would feel a weight magically lifted.  Or some sense of relief.  I envisioned putting the pen down, as I rose like a phoenix from the flames and my old life.  I would soar towards the next phase.. but none of that happened.  Truth is, I feel tired, sad and a little scared.  Even though we’ve been separated for a couple of years, the physical act of signing the documents brought a sense of finality to our story.  Obviously, ours wasn’t always a fairy tale, but it wasn’t a Shakespearean tragedy either.  We fell in love quickly and passionately then combined our families into one boisterous “Brady” bunch.  During our ten years together, we six created a lot of exceptional memories.  Memories filled with belly-aching laughter, spirited adventures, happy tears and sad and also lots of life lessons.

My ex-husband was a great step-dad to my kids.  He treated them as his own and introduced them to experiences, they would not have had otherwise.  He is a hard worker and provided a very comfortable life for all of us.   We had nice things and were able to travel often.  Those ten years were some of the best of my life and I don’t look at them as being “wasted” at all.

With that said, the next chapter has yet to be written.  But, it is mine and mine only to write.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Turn The Page

  1. lovereadinginthebath June 20, 2015 / 8:00 am

    Hi, I signed my divorce papers too this week. I thought it would be an important moment, but in the end I just worried about getting the postage right. Hope all goes well with you.

    Like

    • penpaperpulse June 20, 2015 / 3:48 pm

      Ha! Thanks for the chuckle! Yes, today I’m back to ‘me’! 😉

      Like

  2. framedit June 20, 2015 / 8:47 am

    I am sure you will get through this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

